529 – An Unexpected Guest

Somewhere in Appaloosa Plains…

9814

– What do you think, Marcello? Would you like to train him?
– He’s a good animal. That was really a bargain, dad.

9815

– You could easily make a racehorse out of him.
– That was my thinking.

9816

“Marcello, come over here!”

9817

“There’s a guest for you!”

9818

“Should I say that it’s a girl? Hehe.”

9819
9820
– Penelope?! Why are you here?!
– Why did you leave without telling me?

9821

“You came all the way here to ask me that?!”

9822

– See another way?
– You could’ve called me maybe?
– Oh yeah. Well, here I am.

9823

– Listen… The reason why I left is that I didn’t feel like I belonged to that city. I had too many bad memories, do you understand? It has nothing to do with you.
– And you couldn’t simply explain that in the first place?

9824
– I thought it would be easier if I didn’t say anything and just leave.
– Of course. Easier for you.
– Yeah, well, erm…

9825

– But… haven’t they hired a replacement ?
– I don’t want him. I want my usual instructor.
– Have you found a place to stay yet?
– Nope, I didn’t plan anything.
9826
– I’ll… ask my parents if you can use the guest room, if you’d like.
– I’d love to.
9827
Meanwhile, in the kitchen… “Who is that girl??”
9828
– She’s quite young, but she’s lively. If she came looking after him, do you think…?
– Your imagination is running wild, dear.
9829
– But it’s the first time I’ve seen Marcello so flustered when he saw her.
– Have you been spying on them?
9830
– What are you two mumbling about?
– Whoa!
9831
– It wasn’t me! Your mom did it…
– Did what?
– Nothing!
– Right… Erm, she is one of my former pupils who came to say hi, and she hasn’t booked any hotel yet. Could she possibly use the guest room?
9832
– B… but of course! She looks so nice! Right, darling?
– Erm, yeah.
– Thanks, mom. Maybe you should… go and tell her?
9833
Before leaving the room after her son, Luisa Guerrini whispered excitedly to her husband: “She’s sleeping here!! Isn’t that a good sign?!”
9834
Introductions were made.
9835
– Are you sure it’s okay? I don’t want to impose myself…
– Of course it’s okay! Make yourself comfortable, dear.
9836
– Hi, I’m Roberto.
– Nice to meet you, I’m Penelope.
9837
– Wow, I love your hat!
– Thank you. It never leaves me.
9838
– You mean you sleep with it on?
– Actually yes.
9839

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

