530 – Reasons

Late afternoon, the Guerrini parents were quick to suggest a walk with the dogs before sunset. And they took great care to leave the young ones alone.
9840
They walked in silence, which suited Marcello just fine.
9841
But it wasn’t meant to continue for long. Penelope was hesitating to say something for the first time in her life.
– Marcello?
– Yes?
– You know why I came here, don’t you?
9842
– You… were angry at me?
– A little bit, but that’s not the main reason.
9843
– You missed me maybe?
– That too, but then again that’s not my reason for coming all the way here.
9844
“But I can’t say that in words.”
9845
“See? That’s my reason.”
9846
“I don’t know what to say, Penelope. I’m afraid I can’t see you in that light.”
9847
– But… why not?
– Because of… various things that happened to me. I’m sorry but I don’t want anyone In my life.
9848
– What happened exactly? We can talk about it and…
– I don’t want to talk about it. Please understand.
9849
“I… I don’t think anything’s worth shutting your heart for a lifetime, you know… But who am I to tell you this? It seems like you don’t want my help anyway.”
98509851

– Penelope? Do you know that you’re sitting right next to the place where the horses do their business?
– I don’t care.
9852
– Come on, don’t be like that…
– You made me like that. If I had known it would hurt so much, I would never had come. I’d rather never have met you.
9853
– What are you doing? You just said there’s horse poop over there.
– Maybe I don’t care either.
9854
“I got nearly married once. The bride left me at the altar. That’s my reason.”
9855
– Oh… That’s… not very nice.
– She was too young, I think. And you are even younger.
9856
– I see. Now I understand, thanks for telling me this.
– Penelope…
9857
“You may be younger…”
9858
“… but you are also very different from any girl I’ve met before.”
9859
– This is not a promise, ok?
– Gotcha.
9860
– It does stink a lot.
– We’ll see what’s coming.
– I mean, horse poop.
9861

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

