581 – Tristan’s Memories – Part II

I used to dwell on the past. Wondering endlessly what I could have done differently.

10934

I have stopped centuries ago to try and turn back the hands of time.

10935

There was no way I could have avoided that fate.

10936

At some point, my lord decided it was time for me to spar with him.

10937

He was known to be strong. I naively thought I could impress him.

10938

But a stronger man, I had never met.

10939

I only fought with my stubbornness as an ally.

10940

It would always end the same way.

10941

And yet he said I got better.

10942

Summer settled in and very often, I found myself looking for Agnès’ company.

10943

For some reason I couldn’t fathom, she didn’t seem to like my lord.

10944

When I asked her why, she hesitated.

10945

She said he had weird notions. I thought she meant his research about astronomy and the universe, which was a rather modern idea at the time.

10946

Then she reluctantly added it was him who made her the King’s mistress.

10947

I didn’t know what to say.

10948

So, up in the granary, amidst the wheat that had just been harvested, I listened to her. Her story wasn’t much, really. She had been trained to become a lady-in-waiting at the court.

10949

She told me that she had liked me from the start.

10950

I told her that I loved her.

10951

I still believe it was not a mistake.

1095210953

One day, she brought me to an abandoned cemetery on top of the cliff.

10954

She said my lord often came here. I didn’t understand, what could he want in such a place?

10956

“He’s looking for bones” she half-whispered.

10955

To say I wasn’t surprised would have been a lie. But then again, I knew my lord was ahead of times. There were certainly things he had to do in the name of science.

10957

My lord had often mentioned a ‘laboratory’ in which he prepared some potions and ointments. One day, he asked me to follow him to the cellars of the castle.

10958

He had a whole room full of strange books and ingredients. The smell was musty and pungent.

10959

“What is this, my lord?” I admit I got scared. This looked more like witchcraft than traditional alchemy.

10960

“Didn’t you say you wished to help me with my research?” I hesitated and he didn’t like it. “Then go away.”

10961

I couldn’t step back. “I’m sorry I doubted you, my lord. I will of course assist you in whatever way possible.”

10962

“Then read the ingredients for me.”

10963

I decided to turn a blind eye. After all, wasn’t Baron de Rais the powerful leader of the French military?

10964

Besides, I had other things to occupy my mind…

10966

Fall was closing in. And so were the English.

10967

His Majesty Charles VII was talking more and more about ending the war with a powerful strike.

10968

Lord de Rais was going to lead an assault against the Rainefort fortress.

10969

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “581 – Tristan’s Memories – Part II

  1. Zhippidy Doodah 25/08/2014 at 22:52 Reply

    Quite some background. Tristan was used and abused it seems. Coerced into things because he was a servant.

    • Noctie 26/08/2014 at 09:21 Reply

      There will more disclosed as we go, but you’re right: Tristan and the one he calls his ‘lord’ have a complex relationship.

Leave a Reply

