621 – Tristan’s Memories – Part III

Winter had come and with it came my downfall.

18863

I had been sent alone back to the castle as an envoy after the successful siege on Rainefort, only to discover that Agnès had gone on confinement.

18864

That could only mean one thing.

18865

Agnès was pregnant.

18866 18867

She had left a message for me, specifying her location and with an urgent entreaty to come and see her at the first opportunity. I wasn’t supposed to see her at all, but I managed to enter the building without getting noticed.

18868

She opened her door and I slipped into the room.

18869

One thing was still unclear to me: was the child mine or the king’s?

18870

She confirmed my fears: the king hadn’t visited her before he went on campaign. But everyone believed her state was his deed.

18871

In any other universe, those would have been good tidings.

18872

She told me she could try to pass it on as the king’s child, but that she wasn’t sure she would be able to live with the lie. She was so distressed, I would have done anything to help her.

18873

It was I who suggested that we should flee and find refuge in Burgundy.

18874

The enterprise was risky, especially in the middle of winter, and I could hardly blame her for being hesitant.

18875

But she eventually gave her consent.

18876

I tried my best to reassure her with pictures of what our life together could be.

18877

Then the door flung open. “Agnès, what is this rumour I hear?”

18878

Agnès painfully closed her eyes and whispered a barely audible prayer.

18880

And we waited breathlessly as Lord Gilles de Rais stood transfixed in the doorway.

18882

“I see” was all he said.

18881

As Lord de Rais entered the room closing the door behind him, and before I could say anything, Agnès had suddenly thrown herself at his feet and was begging for mercy.

18883

He enquired about the duration of what he called our folly.

18885

Agnès replied and begged some more.

18886

I hung my head in shame as he expressed his disappointment in me.

18884

Agnès began to cry, and I knelt at her side, trying to get her to stand up.

18887

But I couldn’t get her to calm down. She was crying uncontrollably, rocking herself back and forth, holding her belly.

18889

Meanwhile, my lord seemed to be absorbed in deep thought.

18888

He finally offered his hands and helped her to her feet.

18890

He looked genuinely concerned when he asked us if we had thought about running away.

18891

We naively told him that we had, but that it was of course no longer an option.

18892

Then he made the most surprising statement: that he would help us and camouflage our elopement.

18893

“The king let me down at Rainefort. He is no longer entitled to receive my loyalty.”

1889418895

Weeks went by, and snow fell thicker.

18896 18897

I diligently buried myself in my studies, as my lord had recommended, letting him arrange the matter for us.

18898

He seemed himself very absorbed in his experiments, and would often ask me to fetch the weirdest ingredients. He told me his aim was to become closer to God. I didn’t say it looked to me like a heresy.

18899

And one evening…

18900

He told me the preparations were going well, and that I would have to discreetly bring Agnès to a safe place he would indicate. He would await us there, with everything we needed for our long travel to Burgundy.

18901

I was so grateful to have such a good master.

18902

On the appointed day, I came to take Agnès.

18903

And we set out to meet our destiny.

18904

Progress was slow as I couldn’t bring the horse to a gallop. But we finally reached our destination before sunset.

18905

He was effectively waiting for us in that old granary. But the first thing I saw was the heavy cauldron he used to prepare his potions. I couldn’t comprehend why he would bring it so far.

18906

Agnès nervously stepped forward.

18907

Then he grabbed her…

18908

“Thank you for bringing me my last ingredient, Tristan.”

18909 18910

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “621 – Tristan’s Memories – Part III

  1. Zhippidy 16/09/2014 at 11:10 Reply

    !!!! wow what a cold cold self serving man

    • Noctie 17/09/2014 at 09:37 Reply

      He has sold his soul to the devil so to speak. 🙂 His experiments on himself have turned him into something that is no longer human.

Leave a Reply

